TANABATA SONG

Back to HOME  –  ABOUT KANYA

Auckland-New Zealand,
March 10, 2016

I was born in Indonesia, and spending my childhood mostly in France. But when we talked about music, I never like French music. When I was a child, instead of asking daddy (may he rest in peace) or mommy to sing me the French children’s song, I asked them to sing me Indonesian (Javanese) traditional songs like Tembang Kinanti, Dandanggula, etc. and the Japanese children’s song.
For me, the most favorite Japanese children’s song is Tanabata Song. Tanabata is a story about the meeting of the deities Orihime and Hikoboshi (represented the Vega and Altair stars) who had been separated by Milky Way. The lovers are allowed to meet only once a year on the seventh day of the seventh lunar month (July 7).
Every time my parents told this story and sang the song, I always felt as if I was sitting on the moon with the usagi, and happily watching Orihime and Hikoboshi’s ‘reunion’.
When I started to learn piano on the fifth years of my life, the first song I wanted to learn was Tanabata Song. At that time, I really didn’t care about Mozart, Debussy, Kuhlau, or Beethoven. I just wanted to learn Tanabata Song!
I was very happy when finally I could play the song with my piano.
Yesterday, I was surfing on you tube and found this video; the Tanabata Song!
The special things are, it was played very beautifully by a friend of mine, Rei Narita, and it successfully threw me back to the past, and reminded me to my daddy.

It is actually a very simple song, but I think he was also successfully giving the new ‘soul’ and the new perspectives to the song. Stunning!
When I heard it, I could imagine that I was sitting on the moon with the usagi, happily watching Orihime and Hikoboshi’s ‘reunion’, and feeling the purest love between them!
.
Thank you for the beautiful playing.
Hope you have a greater success in the future. Keep playing with soul!
.

「ささの葉さらさら/sasa no ha sarasara
のきばにゆれる/nokiba ni yureru
お星さまきらきら/ ohoshisama kirakira
金銀すなご/ kin-gin sunago

五色のたんざく/goshiki no tanzaku
わたしが書いた/watashi ga kaita
お星さまきらきら/ ohoshisama kirakira
空から見てる…」/sora kara miteru
.

NOTE:

  • Usagi means Rabbit. In the East Asian (Japanese, Korean, Chinese) folklore/fairy tale, it is said that creature lived on the moon is rabbit. The rabbit is actually a pareidolia that identifies the markings of the Moon
  • Rei Narita, is a Smooth Jazz pianist, composer, and arranger from Japan.  Website: Studio Luna Azul. Blog: The Color of Soundscape. Facebook Fanpage: Rei Narita 

Laisser un commentaire

